The 2012 TBR stack is already growing…

After reflecting on some of my favorites from 2011, I thought I’d jot down a few books I’m especially looking forward to reading this year:

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman  This one came out in November to rave reviews, and I was psyched when my grandma-in-law gave me a copy on Christmas!

Unpacking My Library: Writers and Their Books  I first read about this one in an excerpt in the Financial Times back in November, and added it to my wish list. And, lo and behold, it was also waiting for me under the Christmas tree!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a big fan of Neil Gaiman’s Graveyard Book, but I haven’t ventured into his other fiction yet. So I’m taking the plunge this year. Maybe beginning with Neverwhere or American Gods, but I’m open to suggestions from more experienced Gaiman fans.

I just read my first Jeeves & Wooster book (My Man Jeeves on my new Kindle! But more on that later). I can’t figure out how I missed out on P.G. Wodehouse for so long. More Jeeves, please! And if I finish enough of the stories, maybe I’ll check out the BBC series (starring a pre-House Hugh Laurie).

American Empress: The Life and Times of Marjorie Merriweather Post  I visited Post’s Hillwood Estate last month for the first time in a VERY long time, which prompted me to borrow this excellent biography from my mom.

I’ve also just barely started reading about another Post (unrelated, I believe?), in Laura Claridge’s Emily Post: Daughter of the Gilded Age, Mistress of American Manners. Apparently I have a thing for reading about extremely rich ladies of the recent and not so recent past. Hmm…

Anyway, those are just some highlights from my to-be-read pile(s). What about you? Any exciting things in your TBR stack? Or any New Year’s reading resolutions?

About Julie @ Tea & Paper

Book lover, native Washingtonian, writer.

3 responses to “The 2012 TBR stack is already growing…

  1. I have Unpacking My Library on my list too! I love Neil Gaiman, but I do not recommend American Gods. Coraline is wonderful, as is Odd and the Frost Giants, both for kids. Odd and Coraline share with Nobody Owens a wonderful independence and self-sufficiency. I love how clever his kids are.

  2. Should have explained: American Gods is trying too hard. Gratuitous violence and sex. Takes too long to get into its stride. I only managed the first 50 pages.

    • Thanks for the Neil Gaiman advice. I’ve been reading a “trying to hard”/gratuitous sex & violence book lately (“The Last Werewolf”), but my need to know what happens next is outweighing my annoyance. I’m not very good at putting a book down once I’m invested in it, even if I don’t love it. Something I need to work on!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

