Snickerdoodle-ooo

Today is my glorious Friday off (hooray for comp time!) and I decided to celebrate by baking some cookies. I settled on snickerdoodles. (The Joy of Cooking — it never lets you down.) Now the apartment has the glorious smell of cinnamon & butter wafting about, and I’m enjoying a mug of lavender Earl Gray.

I have fond childhood memories of snickerdoodles, in spite of the fact that I didn’t actually taste one until I was a teenager. That’s because snickerdoodles were featured in one of my favorite series when I was a kid, the Supergranny books by Beverly Van Hook. They were the best. The basic premise: Three kids and their giant English Sheepdog make friends with the little old gray-haired lady down the street, Supergranny. Supergranny likes to put on a frilly apron and bake snickerdoodles for the neighborhood kids. Then she hops in her red Ferrari with her ’80s robot (named Chester) and fights crime. AWESOME.

I had about half a dozen of these books, in which Supergranny and the kids retrieved stolen museum artifacts (shrunken heads, in the first book), prevented several murders, and reveled the truth behind various fraudulent schemes. And in every book, they took time to munch on Supergranny’s delicious homemade snickerdoodles.

Do you have a favorite “book food” from a story you love? Did anyone but me ever read the Supergranny books? Or are they lost to history (of the early ’90s)?

About Julie @ Tea & Paper

Book lover, native Washingtonian, writer.

One response to “Snickerdoodle-ooo

  1. Meg

    Though I’m not familiar with Supergranny, that sounds like an awesome book series! And snickerdoodles are amazing. Easily one of my favorite cookies. I’d never tried one until I started working for a bookstore in college; in lieu of dinner most nights, I’d grab a warm one from the cafe on my breaks. So tasty! Snickerdoodles definitely remind me of that time in my life.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

