Scary Pooches: “The Hound of the Baskervilles”

"AhwOOOOOOOOOOOOO!"

As I’ve mentioned before, my collection of Sherlock Holmes stories is one of my go-to books when I’m home sick or just in a bad mood. But even though I find them comforting, some of the stories are spooky enough to be great Halloween reads. The Hound of the Baskervilles is probably the most famous Holmes story, and it captures the distinctly British creepiness of an ancient manse with a frightening past on the desolate moor. Here are some of Dr. Watson’s observations:

“In the evening I put on my waterproof and I walked far upon the sodden moor, full of dark imaginings, the rain beating upon my face and the great wind whistling about my ears. God help those who wander into the mire now…In the distant hollow in the left, half hidden by the mist, the two thin towers of Baskerville Hall rose above the trees.”

You’ve got a possibly haunted mansion, treacherous surroundings, and a mysterious, possibly supernatural, murderous hound. What more do you need for Halloween?

Best read on a foggy evening with a strong cup of hot Earl Grey.

About Julie @ Tea & Paper

Book lover, native Washingtonian, writer.

One response to “Scary Pooches: “The Hound of the Baskervilles”

  1. I love this book…and you are so right the book is so atmospheric it makes a great halloween spooky story..Eliza Keating

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

